Liverpool now have more PL points than all of Sir Alex Ferguson’s Man Utd champions

Liverpool returned to the top of the Premier League with a 3-2 win at Newcastle United this weekend.

Heading into the closing moments of the game, it looked as though Jurgen Klopp’s men had slumped to their eighth draw of the season and given Manchester City a huge advantage.

Liverpool had twice taken the lead thanks to Virgil van Dijk and Mohamed Salah, only for Newcastle to respond on both occasions with goals from Christian Atsu and Salomon Rondon.

It was starting to look like Liverpool had run out of ideas during the second-half but an inspired set-piece delivery from Xherdan Shaqiri flipped the game on its head.

Just as he had done during the first Merseyside Derby of the season, Divock Origi popped up with a dramatic late winner – despite his minimal game-time in 2018-19 – and secured all three points.


The victory moved Liverpool to a staggering tally of 94 points, but they are still reliant on City dropping points if they want to win a first Premier League trophy.

There is certainly no guarantee that the Citizens will see out the season with two wins, yet games with Leicester City and Brighton & Hove Albion won’t provide the toughest challenges.

As a result, there’s guaranteed to be a Premier League runner-up with over 90 points for the very first time and this current Liverpool side is already one of the greatest in history.


Remarkably, they will go down as at least the competition’s fourth greatest team and another victory on the final day would lift them above everybody expect last season’s City.

Only Pep Guardiola’s reigning champions and the Chelsea team from 2004-05 have managed to top 93 points, meaning Liverpool have bettered 24 of the 26 Premier League champions.

That, in turn, means that Klopp’s current side are better than any of Sir Alex Ferguson’s title-winning Manchester United teams in terms of points – a remarkable achievement.

Take a look at a comparison to some of Ferguson’s sides down below:

1. Liverpool, 2018-19 – 94 points (at least)

2. Manchester United, 1993-94 – 92 points

3. Manchester United, 1999-00 – 91 points

4. Manchester United, 2003-04 – 90 points

5. Manchester United, 2006-07 – 89 points

6. Manchester United, 2012-13 – 89 points

7. Manchester United, 2007-08 – 88 points

That’s not to mention the fact that United’s treble-winning team from 1999 are well off the pace, ‘only’ accumulating 79 points despite bagging the FA Cup and Champions League, too.

Of course, that also places Liverpool above Arsenal’s famous ‘Invincibes’ team and the Chelsea side that notched up a record winning streak under Antonio Conte.

The fact of the matter is that Liverpool have accumulated enough points to have already won the Premier League title in nearly every season of its existence.

Even United teams boasting the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Paul Scholes in their prime, weren’t able to garner 94 points under arguably the greatest manager in history.

That’s not to mention the fact that their highest points tally ever – produced in the 1993-94 season – actually came when the Premier League had 22 teams and played four games more.

If the Reds win against Wolves and still finish second, they’ll have to go down as the unluckiest team in the competition’s history.